habit check up

So here’s an update on my goal of healthy habits for 2017. Originally I had a huge list of habits that I decided I did not want to be casual about, so here is my check up for February.

Let me just say it is a wonderful thing to have a planner to keep me on task. Especially being able to discover my best organization strategy with the flexibility of the Passion Planner. My habits rewards strategy has not worked as well as I anticipated, however it has revealed to be beneficial in ways I did not know would happen.

My whole structure was that I would check off the days I did my habits and reward myself with points to use towards certain rewards. The problem is I did not know what my January was going to look like and what time I would and would not have. Things like time to watch tv became moot when there were days my brain was so tired I could not even think (my chaotic 9 straight hours yesterday being one of them).

What has worked is being conscientious of these habits and seeing rewards loose their importance. Working out more consistently – even though most weeks I only make it 2 out of my goal of 3 days – is making me feel good and want to eat better. Cleaning house is frustrating when it feels like no one else contributes, but I choose to consider the emotional state of everyone in the house. I will let it go and worry about my space, but if me picking up the slack means everyone feels better, then why not? Spending consistent time with God is something I want to do, even if I cannot always get my mind in the place I want it, I am seeing the comfort of spiritual discipline and it takes precedence over watching the news in the morning.

I may not be the best at this pursuing a goal thing, but I see myself growing in discipline, awareness of myself, of others, and how these small things will grow into a foundation for health in my life.

Stop giving yourself excuses and get up and make something of your time. Choosing to not be casual about habits does not mean succeeding every week. Instead it means being aware that you are moving forward even when you fall two steps back.

We will see where we are when we hit March 1st!

Leave a Reply

